School Leadership

Administrative Leadership Team

We are pleased to announce that Serena Wilkie Gifford will join Tower as our 10th Head of School in our school's 107 year history; she will join Tower in January 2020. Ms. Gifford will follow Tower's former Head of School, Tim Delehaunty, who passed away in November of 2018.

Until that time, Associate Head of School and CFO, Dean Sidell, will continue to lead Tower as Acting Head of School.

Acting Head of School

Director of Development

Head of Lower School

Head of Upper School

Director of Marketing & Communication

Director of Enrollment Management & Secondary School Placement

Director of Admission

Board of Trustees

Tower School is governed by an independent and self-sustaining Board of Trustees. The Board ensures that the school's mission is relevant and vital to the Tower community, and it monitors the success of the school in fulfilling its mission.

The Board seeks members who represent the diversity of the school community and who contribute a particular expertise that will serve the school. Board members are distinguished by their commitment to Tower and their care for the mission of the school.

Membership is determined by vote of the board according to the school's by-laws. Board members serve three-year terms.

photo of Tower's Board of Trustees 2019 2020 in the backyard



Trustee Bios



AISNE 2019 Governance Conference

Trustees attended the annual AISNE Governance Conference with Dean Sidell, Jessie Achterhof and Serena Wilkie Gifford. Discussions were broad reaching and strategic. Many sessions centered on the fundamental practices effective boards use to support school leaders, steward the school mission and strengthen school communities. Included were conversations surrounding three levels of governance of effective boards: fiduciary, strategic and generative, and how they underpin the work of mission-driven strategy. 

For a full overview, click the AISNE link above.  

AISNE's Diversity, Equity and Inclusivity Conference


Last month, Allison Juves, Ruth Du Moulin, Leila Blodgett and Angela Munro ’91 of our parent Diversity Equity and Inclusivity Committee attended AISNE's Diversity, Equity and Inclusivity Conference. This excerpt is taken from one speakers intro: "Embracing diversity and inclusion in education requires a pedagogical commitment to difference. This commitment demands we transcend race and difference to build relationships and view each other as an unlimited resource. We must infuse empathy into how we relate as global citizens and be willing to relearn the limits we place on others because of the way they look, act, believe, think or live.

Diversity practitioners at independent schools are charged with actively engaging in comprehensive, encompassing and relevant initiatives presenting diversity and inclusion as extensions of the school’s sustained identity of excellence in education." 

For a full overview please click the AISNE link above.